Signed in as:
filler@godaddy.com
Signed in as:
filler@godaddy.com
An entire webpage of useful information...
ALWAYS CHECK THE SOURCE OF THE ITEM IN HAND TO AVOID CROSS CONTAMINATION
Acacia Gum, Acorn Quercus, Amaranth***, Adzuki Bean, Agar, Almond Nut, Arabic Gum, Arrowroot, Artichokes, Astragalus Gummifer, Beans, Bean, Adzuki, Bean, Hyacinth, Bean, Lentil, Bean, Mung, Bean Romano (Chickpea), Bean Tepary, Besan, Bicarbonate of Soda-(some contain gluten), Buckwheat***, Butter (avoid annatto), Carageenan Chondrus Crispus, Carob Bean, Carob Bean Gum, Carob Flour, Cassava Manihot Esculenta, Cellulose*, Cellulose Gum, Cheeses (except blue & chilton), Chickpea, Corn, Corn Meal, Corn Flour, Cornstarch, Cowitch, Cowpea, Cream of Tartar, Eggs, Fish (fresh), Flaked Rice, Flax, ruit (including dried), Gelatin, Grits-Corn, Guar Gum, Herbs, Hyacinth Bean, Job's Tears, Lentil, Locust Bean Gum, Maize, Maize Waxy, Manioc, Masa Flour, Masa Harina, Meat (fresh), Methyl Cellulose**, Milk, Millet***, Mung Bean, Nut- Acron, Nut-Almond, Oats***, Oils and Fats, Peas, Pea-Chick, Pea-Cow, Pea Flour, Pigeon Peas, Polenta, Potatoes, Potato Flour, Prinus, Psyllium, Quinoa***, Ragi, Rape, Rice, Rice Flour, Romano Bean (chickpea), Sago Palm, Sago Flour, Seed-Sesame, Seed-Sunflower, Sorghum, Sorghum Flour, Soy, Soybean, Spices (pure), Starch(made in USA), Sunflower Seed, Sweet Chestnut Flour, Tapioca, Tapioca Flour, Teff, Teff Flour, Tepary Bean, Tofu-Soya Curd, Tragacanth, Tragacanth Gum, Urad Beans, Urad Dal (peas) Vegetables, Waxy Maize, Wild Rice, Xanthan Gum, Yam Flour, Yogurt
*Cellulose is a carbohydrate polymer of D-glucose. It is the structural material of plants, such as wood in trees. It contains no gluten protein.
**Methyl cellulose is a chemically modified form of cellulose that makes a good substitute for gluten in rice-based breads and so forth.
***Beware of wheat contamination!
Safe Additives
Adipic Acid, Acacia Gum, Arabic Gum, Aspartame (can cause IBS symtoms), Ascorbic Acid, BHA, BHT, Beta Carotene, Biotin, Calcium Chloride, Calcium Phosphate, Carboxymethylcellulose, Carob Bean Gum, Carrageenan, Cellulose Gum, Citric Acid, Corn Swetener, Corn Syrup Solids, Demineralized Whey, Dextrimaltose, Dextrose, Dioctyl Sodium, Folic Acid-Folacin, Fructose, Fumaric Acid, Glutamine (amino acid), Glyceryl Nono-Oleate, Glycerol Monooleate, Guar Gum, Invert Sugar, Latic Acid, Lactose, Lecithin, Locust Bean Gum, Magnesium Hydroxide, Malic Acid, Microcrystallin Cellulose, MSG made in the USA,
M Vitamins & Minerals, Niacin-Niacinamide, Polyglycerol, Polysorbate 60;
80 Potassium Citrate, Potassium Iodide, Propylene Gycol Monostearete, Propylgallate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Sodium Acid Pyraphosphate, Sodium Ascorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Caseinate, Sodium Citrate, Sodiium Hexametaphosphate, Sodium Nitrate
Sodium Silaco Aluminate, Sorbitol-Mannitol (can cause IBS symtoms), Sucrose, Sulfosuccinate, Tartaric Acid, TBHQ is Tetra or Tributylhydroquinone, Thiamine Hydrochoride, Tragacanth Gum, Tri-Calcium Phosphate, Vanillan, Vitamin A (palmitate), Xanthan Gum.
Reprinted from Celiac.org
Abyssinian Hard- Wheat Triticum duran, Annatto Color (can contain gluten), Baking Soda (some contain gluten), Barley Hordeum vulgare, Beer, Blue Cheese (made with bread), Bran
Bread Flour, Brown Flour, Bulgar (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts), Bulgar Wheat, Caramel Color***, Cereal Binding, Chilton, Couscous, Dextrins*, Durum Wheat Triticum, Edible Starch, Einkorn Wheat, Filler, Germ, Glutamate (Free), Glutamic Acid, Graham FlourGranary Flour, Gravy Cubes, (many contain gluten), Ground Spices, (some contain gluten), Gum Base, Hard Wheat, Hydrolyzed Plant Protein (HPP), Hydrolyzed Vegitable Protein (HVP), Kamut (Pasta wheat), Malt, Malt Extract, Malt Syrup, Malt Flavoring, Malt vinegar, Maltodextrin*, Modified Food Starch-(made outside USA), Mono and Diglycerides**, Mustard Powder (some contain gluten), Nuts, Wheat Oats Avena stativa, Pasta, RyeSemolina Triticum, Scotch shoyu (soy sauce), Small Spelt, Soy Sauce, Spelt Triticum spelta, Starch (outside USA), Stock Cubes - bouillon (many contain gluten), Strong Flour, Suet in Packets, Triticale X triticosecale, Vegetable Starch, Vitamins (some contain gluten), Wheat Triticum aestivum, Wheat-Nuts, Wheat-Abyssinian Hard triticum durum, Wheat-Blugar, Wheat-Durum Triticum, Wheat-Triticum mononoccum, Wheat-Starch, Wheat-Germ, White Vinegar (problem for some), Whole-Meal Flour
* Maltodextrin/Dextrins: The Canadian Celiac Association says that maltodextrin is "a hydrolyzed carbohydrate made from corn starch." However, the American Celiac Society, Additives Alert, page 1 disagrees: "Maltodextrin (from the FDA 11/2/1988 The Merck Index, 10th edition) is maltose and dextrins obtained by enzymatic action of barley malt or corn flour. Spray dried hydrolyzed carbohydrates made from corn starch. In its natural state, corn starch is not soluble in water. Maltrin Grain Processing of Miscantine, IA using milk conversion techniques produces a full range of starch hydrolyzates from which the dextrins are made. The FDA has not defined a standard of identity for this product and should be avoided unless you know how it was manufactured." The FDA definition goes back to 1963 and has not been updated. The FDA and many companies report that maltodextrin is corn. The food industry definition is that it can be made from any carbohydrate.
** Mono and diglycerides can contain a wheat carrier in the USA. While they are derivatives of fats, carbohydrate chains may be used as a binding substance in their preparation, which are usually corn or wheat, so this needs to be checked out with the manufacturer.
*** The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the U.S.A. caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: "the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), Invert sugar, Lactose (milk sugar), Malt syrup (usually from barley malt), Molasses (from cane), Starch Hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), Sucrose (cane or beet)." Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.
Additional Things to Beware of
Wheat bread crumbs in butter, jams, toaster, counter, etc.
Lotions, creams and cosmetics (esp lipstick which gets ingested)
Vitamins
Oral medications (many contain gluten)
Stamps, envelopes or other gummed labels
Toothpaste and mouthwash
Cereals: most contain malt flavoring, or some other non-GF ingredient
Some brands of rice paper
Sauce mixes
Ice cream
Packet & canned soups
Dried meals and gravy mixes
Laxatives
Grilled restaurant food - gluten contaminated grill
Fried restaurant foods - gluten contaminated grease
Ground spices - wheat flour is commonly used to prevent clumping
Paper Straws
Reprinted from Celiac.org
We use cookies to analyze website traffic and optimize your website experience. By accepting our use of cookies, your data will be aggregated with all other user data.